- You cannot delete a rule that belongs to a locked ruleset version. However, in most situations, you can create a blocked or withdrawn rule in your application that masks a rule (makes invisible to rule resolution), that you no longer need in your application.
- You cannot delete standard rules because they are part of the Pega Platform product. However, you can override many standard rules.
- You can delete a rule or data instance only in the following circumstances:
- If an Access of Role to Object rule that is associated with your access role allows you to delete rules or data instances.
- If no Access Deny rules that are associated with your access role prevent you from deleting rules or data instances.
- You cannot delete a rule in which the Circumstance or Start Time fields are blank if your system contains other rules with identical keys that are circumstance-qualified or time-qualified. Delete the qualified rules first, and then delete the unqualified rule.
- You cannot delete an Operator ID if the operator has any checked-out rules. Before you delete an Operator ID, the operator needs to sign in, and delete or check in all rules in the personal ruleset.
- You cannot delete a concrete class that contains instances.
- You cannot delete a class, either concrete or abstract, if the system contains rules with the same class name as the Applies To class. You receive a notification with a list of the rules that you need to delete before you delete the class rule.
- You cannot delete a ruleset version rule that identifies a non-empty collection of rules. First, you need to delete each of the rules in the version.
- You cannot delete a ruleset for which a ruleset version exists. Delete each version first.
- In the navigation pane of Dev Studio, click Records.
- In the Records explorer, expand the category of the rule that you want to delete, and
then click its rule type.
For example: If you want to delete an activity, expand the Technical category, and then click Activity.
- In the list of rule instances, click the rule that you want to delete.
- Click Delete.
- In the Delete dialog box, describe the reason for deleting the rule, and then click Delete.
- Optional: To undo your changes while you still have the rule open, click Restore.
- Recovering a deleted rule
Facilitate application development by recovering one of the most recent versions of a deleted rule. For example, if you accidentally delete a property, or delete a process rule that seems irrelevant, but you later realize that you need the process to complete the case life cycle.