Skip to main content

         This documentation site is for previous versions. Visit our new documentation site for current releases.      

Log levels for log categories

Updated on May 31, 2022

You can select which log messages your log files include by creating custom log categories and associating log levels with your categories.

The log level of a category determines the type of messages that the log file includes. When you create a log category and set its default log level, these selections apply to all nodes in the cluster and they persist until they reset. The default log level applies to all the loggers that you associate with your category.

Log levels

When you choose a log level, messages from that level and above are written to the log file. For example, if the log level is set to ERROR, the log file includes log messages with a severity of ERROR and FATAL. The following list orders log levels from highest (most severe) to lowest (least severe):
The log file does not include any messages.
The log file includes messages about severe errors that can cause the application to terminate.
The log file includes messages about serious errors that might allow the application to continue running.
The log file includes Pega Platform-specific messages that indicate that a performance threshold has been exceeded, or that an event that affects the performance has occurred.
The log file includes messages about situations that might have an adverse performance implication.
The log file includes messages about a run-time events, such as startup or shutdown, that have occurred.
The log file includes messages about informational events that are useful for debugging.
The log file includes messages for all levels.

Note: Adjust a log level to your specific needs. The log level that is too verbose may cause performance issues.

You can apply the same log levels to individual loggers. For example, if you want a log category that groups loggers that correspond with agents to work on the FATAL level, but you need one logger within this category to work on the ALL level, you can change the level of the individual logger.

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Did you find this content helpful?

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best. is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us