Skip to main content


         This documentation site is for previous versions. Visit our new documentation site for current releases.      
 

This content has been archived and is no longer being updated.

Links may not function; however, this content may be relevant to outdated versions of the product.

Migrating data between Decision Data Store data sets

Updated on April 5, 2022

You can migrate data between two sibling Decision Data Store data sets. By using this option, you can transfer records between sibling data sets that are part of different rulesets or sibling data sets that part of different versions of the same ruleset and do not share a data schema (for example, as a result of having a different set of exposed properties). With this option, you can quickly and efficiently migrate data between related rulesets and re-use it in different applications. Additionally, no data is lost when you migrate data between data sets that have different schemes.

  1. Access the Data Set rule that you want to migrate by performing the following actions:
    1. In Dev Studio, click RecordsData ModelData Set,
    2. Click the data set name. This data set must be of type Decision Data Store.
  2. On the Decision data store tab, in the Data migration section, click Migrate data.
    This section is visible only if the current data set has a sibling rule in another version of the same ruleset or is part of a different ruleset but has the same name and Applies To class.
  3. Expand the Source data set version list and select the data set from which you want to migrate data to the current data set.
  4. Optional: Truncate the data in the source or destination data set by selecting an available option in the Migration options section:
    • Truncate the source data set after migration – Removes the data from the source data set after the migration process finishes. Use this option when you do not need the data in the source data set because, for example, that data set is part of an obsolete application ruleset.
    • Truncate the destination set before migration – Removes data from the current data set before the migration process starts and then moves the data from the source data set to the current data set. Select this option when you want to overwrite the data in the current data set with the data from the source data set. If this option is not selected, the migration process will overwrite any data with the same keys and append or insert new records in the destination data set. You can select this option if, for example, the previous migration process was unsuccessful and only a portion of the data was saved.
  5. Click Migrate.
    The migration process starts and a data flow run is triggered in the background that transfers the data over from the source to the destination and performs truncating, if selected. You can view migration process by clicking Open data flow run.

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Did you find this content helpful?

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us