Setting up users and roles
Define roles and users to manage which users can access Deployment Manager and which features they can access. For example, you can create a role that does not permit users to delete pipelines for a specific application.
Deployment Manager provides two default roles, which you cannot modify or delete, that define privileges for super administrators and application administrators. Privileges for super administrators are applied across all applications, and privileges for application administrators are applied to specific applications. Super administrators can also add roles and specify the privileges to assign to them. Super administrators and application administrators can add users and assign them access to the applications that they manage.
- Adding and modifying roles
If you are a super administrator, you can add and modify roles. Users within a role share defined responsibilities such as starting a deployment in a pipeline.
- Assigning privileges
As of Deployment Manager 5.1.x, you can assign privileges to users to define or restrict access to the different features and functionality within the portal. See below for a list of privileges associated with each category of Deployment Manager.
- Providing access to Dev Studio to a role
Deployment Manager provides a dedicated portal from which you can access features. From within Deployment Manager, when you configure pipeline details, you can open, modify, and create repositories and authentication profiles in Dev Studio if you have permissions to use the Dev Studio portal.
- Adding users and specifying their roles
If you are a super administrator or application administrator, you can add users to Deployment Manager and specify their roles. Only super administrators can create other super administrators or application administrators who can access one or more applications.
- Modifying user roles and privileges
Super administrators can give other users super administrative privileges or assign them as application administrators to any application. Application administrators can assign other users as application administrators for the applications that they manage.
- Modifying your user details and password
You can modify your own user details, such as first and last name, and you can change your password.
- Deleting users
If you are a super administrator or application administrator, you can delete users for the applications that you manage.
Previous topic Understanding update pipelines Next topic Adding and modifying roles