Skip to main content

         This documentation site is for previous versions. Visit our new documentation site for current releases.      


Updated on March 25, 2022

To combat tax evasion the U.S. Treasury enacted the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), which aims at preventing that U.S. taxpayers avoid taxation on their income and assets held abroad.

Financial institutions located in jurisdictions that have signed an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA)1 must report information to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) about financial assets owned by U.S. taxpayers; reporting is done either to the relevant local tax authorities, which then provides the information to the IRS (in the Model 1 IGA), or directly to the IRS (in the Model 2 IGA).

FATCA compliant must be also Participating FFIs (Foreign Financial Institutions), i.e., the financial institutions that, although located in a country that has not signed an IGA, have decided to willingly cooperate with the IRS.

1 For an updated list of countries that have signed an IGA, see the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act .

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Did you find this content helpful?

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best. is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us