Skip to main content

         This documentation site is for previous versions. Visit our new documentation site for current releases.      

Code group assignment

Updated on December 15, 2021

In addition to performing validation edits on the claim, this module also retrieves all the code groups associated with the matched HCPCS/CPT/CDT procedure on each claim line. The code groups and supporting tables are managed in the Pega Foundation for Healthcare.

Pega Marketing User Guide

The procedure code groups mapped including custom made groups and the Berenson-Eggers Type of Service (BETOS) Categories. BETOS categories are typically used to group similar services and help analyze Medicare costs. All HCPCS procedure codes are assigned to a BETOS category. There are seven BETOS clinical categories:

  • Evaluation and Management
  • Procedures
  • Imaging
  • Tests
  • Durable Medical Equipment
  • Other
  • Exceptions/Unclassified

Berenson-Eggers Type of Service (BETOS) codes are assigned for each Health Care Financing Administration Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) procedure code.

The matched code groups are visible in the UX by selecting the appropriate procedure code.

These matched code groups are all stored in the BETOS_CodeGroupList in the clipboard.

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Did you find this content helpful?

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best. is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us