Skip to main content

         This documentation site is for previous versions. Visit our new documentation site for current releases.      

Creating smart investigate for payments security levels

Updated on March 4, 2022

Within an organization,business requirements may dictate that users be restricted from viewing or working on assignments. Smart Investigate for Payments has four security levels that you can use to define what work objects or assignments users can access.

The criteria for deciding the level of access restriction are a user’s assigned role, operational unit (for example, branch), and business area (for example, Payments) related to the investigation case. Client requirements may use one or more criteria, with the significance and order of each carrying varying weights.

Smart Investigate for Payments provides a fully customizable set of rules that allow organizations to restrict or prohibit access based on multiple layers of security. Three of the rules must be assigned to an individual user, and a fourth is based on the user’s access group.

The security levels assigned to users are defined in their Data-Admin-Operator-Security profiles. This table illustrates typical business segmentation for security levels.

1Financial institutionBank name(one or many for a multi-bank scenario)
2Division offinancial institutionEither branch orbusiness area
3Furtherdivision of level 2Either branch orbusiness area
4Furtherdivision of level 3Ateam within a branch or business area
Worklist orWorkbasketLowest division ofworkAn individual operatoror workbasket within a team
Note: Level1 is the highest security and is usually a single value given to the bank running the application. However, if Smart Investigate for Payments is being deployed in a multi-bank environment, level 1 may contain more than one value.

An initial task in the deployment of Smart Investigate for Payments is the definition of a business model. The business model defines how the levels will be used and what values each level will contain. These levels are then defined in the system prior to being assigned to a user.

The following steps are required to deploy the Smart Investigate for Payments security solution:

  • Configure security levels 1, 2, and 3
  • Define evaluation logic for the decision tree rule SetSecurityAccessMode (of type Rule- Declare-DecisionTree)
  • Define the decision table rule SetLevel1Instance (of type Rule-Declare-DecisionTable)
  • Set initial Security instances (of type Data-Admin-Operator-Security):
  • Verify that Data-Admin-Operator-Security instances reference the activity SIOperatorLogon
  • Update class-based Rule-Obj-Validate(that is, MyCoSI)
Pega Smart Investigate for Payments Implementation Guide

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Did you find this content helpful?

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best. is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us